How Chinese Overseas Students Feel About Australia

I interviewed some international students from China and got their attitudes to Australia. They are from different areas of China, they came to Australia at diverse times. But their ideas are extremely similar with each other.

Chen:   What’s your name?

Where are you from?

How long have you been here?

How do you feel about here?”

IMG_1755 J: My name is Jason, from Shanghai, China. I’ve been studying master of construction practice at Bond Uni for one year. I still remember my first day in Australia, that was a lovely day. You will never know how excited I was when I arrived in another land which I’ve had never been to before. Surrounded by the fresh air, sunshine and beautiful beaches, it feels like I found the real paradise which only existed in my dreams. Honestly, immigration is the first word flash into my mind at that moment, which I never think of it before. However, as time goes on, I found not everything here is as good as my imagination. The life here is quiet and slow or maybe it’s too slow for me, then a kind of boring comes to me. Compared with the large population in China, here is more like a small town, everyone makes good living without big pressure, but for a guy grown up in China and live there for more than 20 years, probably I still need time to get use of such a slow pace life. Another problem is it’s hard for Chinese student to integrate into Aussie society, perhaps due to the culture conflict. All in all, I like Au and time will fix all these problems, I believe everything will be fine.

Chen:: As we know you have been here from China for a really long time, can you simply talk about your feeling about Australia and China?

R: 截图20150127123359  My name is Runze, I am originally from Beijing, China. It’s been 11 years since I’ve been in Australia. I started in high school when I first arrived in Australia. I lived with my father and stepmom since then. My little brother was born in 2008. I am an Australia citizen since 2007. It took me a while to adapt to the new environment given that I knew almost no English when I first arrived. The environment was very clean, people were friendly but I still experienced some barriers and racism when encountering some Australians. After many years I can speak English fluently without an accent. People thinks I’m born in Australia when they talk to me but it’s due to my parents efforts and pressure that helped me to reach this level of communication. A lot of people ask me what I want to do in the future, or where I actually want to be in the future, but what they are really asking is which country do I prefer more, China or Australia. As a Chinese person I am proud of my own country. There may be a humongous population and serious pollution but China is growing to be one of the richest countries in the whole world. Many Chinese people try to immigrate to other countries but there are more and more foreigners immigrating to China because it has so many opportunities and possibilities to explore for both culture and career matters. It is still going to take time for me to decide which way my future is going to head, because Australia and China are same to me, it is where my home is.

Chen: Can you introduce yourself to us and talk about your feeling to Australia?

Y:截图20150127123641 My name is Yue, from Qingdao, China. I’m an exchange student from Shandong College of  Art. I have been here for 2 years. I’m studying the Bachelor of International Business at Griffith. Australian’s generally give me a positive impression but the only times I make contact with Australians are during classes. Sometimes I feel anxious to talk with local people since I always worry about making mistakes in grammars. I always consider my oral English is weak, I know I need to build my confidence. But when I talk with local people, they are always very kind and tolerant. When I made some mistakes they still be patient and tried to understand my and forgave my problems. I appreciate that. After I came here, I found people here are truly enjoying their lives. Dislike Chinese people have to busy for lives, and struggle with the fate. My daily life is relaxed here, I am very happy with this.

Leave a comment